Principal's Post - Week of March 16th

posted Mar 12, 2020, 3:49 PM by Jorge Goncalves   [ updated Mar 24, 2020, 12:29 PM ]

I hope that this message finds you well. As you have already heard, our public schools will be closed through Monday, April 6, 2020. You may find useful information on our district’s website regarding the Coronavirus & COVID-19 Updates here and Dr. Gilligan’s announcement regarding the school closing here


Reminders:

  • To make up the 2 days required by the state to fulfill our 180-day requirement we will utilize Beyond the Classroom. Our teachers offered students paper copies of assignments, but all assignments may be found on the Beyond the Classroom website here.

  • In addition to Beyond the Classroom assignments, NAPS is working on sharing additional suggested enrichment activities to keep learning alive during this time.

  • If your child needs to pick anything up at school, the building will be open on Monday, March 16th from 9-12 and again on Tuesday, March 17th from 9-12.


Health Services Updates
You may find all recent Health Service Updates here and on our website.

Free Internet Opportunity

Comcast is offering free internet for 60 days. You can learn more at the following website: https://www.internetessentials.com/covid19


NAMS Family Comedy Night will be rescheduled for the fall of 2020
Originally, this event was scheduled for Friday, March 27th but we have decided to reschedule this event for the fall of 2020 due to ImprovBoston's availability.

Future NAMS PTAC Meetings

All Tuesdays from 9:00-10:00 a.m. in the Grade 8 Cafeteria

  • April 14, 2020

  • May 12, 2020

  • June 9, 2020


Support Our Seniors (SOS) Needs You Help!

SOS is a fun-filled, substance-free, overnight party held each year at North Andover High School on the night of Graduation. It marks the conclusion of an activity-filled Senior Week, making the SOS party a very special event! Each year, members of the Senior Class celebrate together while enjoying a wide range of activities, food, music, and entertainment. 

The SOS party is planned and run by a dedicated group of board members and dozens of volunteers.

There are many ways that parents of students of ALL ages can help. Many volunteers are needed before, during, and after the event to insure it runs smoothly. You can help keep this wonderful tradition going!

How can you learn more and sign up to help?

SOS Website: https://sites.google.com/site/sosnahs/home

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sosnahs

Twitter: @SOSNAHS

Email: sosnahs@gmail.com


Register now for the 7th Annual Matthew Harty Mito Classic - Street Hockey Fundraiser 
The 7th Annual Matthew Harty Mito Classic will be held at the North Andover Youth Center Thursday, April 16, 2019 beginning at 3:00 p.m.
Play street hockey to help raise funds to help those with mitochondrial disease go to camp. You can sign up a team and learn more about this fundraiser here.

Opportunity for Music Families -

NAMA Offers Music Stipends for Tuition and Fee Assistance

The North Andover Music Association can help with the cost of tuition or application fees for NAPS music students attending music honors programs, music training programs, and summer music or music theatre camps or programs.

If you are interested in applying for a stipend please fill out the NAMA Stipend Application found here and ask your music teacher to sign and submit it to the NAMA stipend committee. 

Only one stipend with a maximum amount of $100 per calendar year for each student.  We are currently accepting stipend applications for the July 2019 - June 2020 AND the July 2020 - June 2021 years.  

If you attended a music or musical theatre summer program and had fees associated with it this past year, please submit an application for funds!  If you have registered for any 2020 summer programs already, please submit an application as well!

More information about NAMA and how you can volunteer as a music parent can be found at https://northandovermusic.org  

A link to the application is also posted in General Forms under the Documents and Forms tab on the NAMA website  https://northandovermusic.org/documents


Upcoming Events (from the NAMS Calendar)


NO SCHOOL THROUGH TUESDAY, APRIL 7, 2020


Monday, March 16, 2020

• No School

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

• No School

• Invite Grade 7 Students to select World Language Choices for Grade 8 by completing Google Form shared with them.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

• No School

Thursday, March 19, 2020

• No School

Friday, March 20, 2020

• No School


Monday, March 23, 2020

• No School

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

• No School

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

• No School

Thursday, March 26, 2020

• No School

Friday, March 27, 2020

• No School


Monday, March 30, 2020

• No School

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

• No School

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

• No School

Thursday, April 2, 2020

• No School

World Autism Awareness Day

Friday, April 3, 2020

• No School


Monday, April 6, 2020

• No School

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

• No School

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

• Students & Staff Return!

Thursday, April 9, 2020

Friday, April 10, 2020

Deadline for Grade 7 Students to select World Language Choices for Grade 8

NAMS Deadline @ 2:30 p.m. for Grade 8 to Submit Override Forms to Homeroom Teachers


NAMS MCAS Dates - Spring 2020 (DATES BELOW ARE NOW SUBJECT TO CHANGE!)

Grade 8 ELA - Session 1 (Tuesday, April 7, 2020)  - SCHOOLS STILL CLOSED.   

Grade 8 ELA - Session 2 (Thursday, April 9, 2020) 

Grade 7 ELA - Session 1 (Tuesday, April 14, 2020)

Grade 7 ELA - Session 2 (Wednesday, April 15, 2020)

Grade 6 ELA - Session 1 (Thursday, April 16, 2020)

Grade 6 ELA - Session 2 (Friday, April 17, 2020)


Grade 7 Math - Session 1 (Thursday, May 7, 2020)

Grade 7 Math - Session 2 (Friday, May 8, 2020)   

Grade 8 Math - Session 1 (Monday, May 11, 2020)

Grade 8 Math - Session 2 (Tuesday, May 12, 2020)

Grade 6 Math - Session 1 (Thursday, May 14, 2020)

Grade 6 Math - Session 2 (Friday, May 15, 2020)


Grade 8 STE - Session 1 (Monday, May 18, 2020)

Grade 8 STE - Session 2 (Tuesday, May 19, 2020)
Comments